The Janata Dal (United)-led National Democratic Alliance retained power in Bihar with a simple majority, according to results announced early on Wednesday. Nitish Kumar is expected to continue as the chief minister for a fourth term.

The 2020 Bihar Assembly Elections saw a tight contest between the National Democratic Alliance and the Mahagathbandhan or the Opposition’s Grand Alliance, led by the Rashtriya Janata Dal. A delay in vote count on Tuesday, largely due to the coronavirus crisis, added suspense to the closely-watched election.

The BJP-JD(U) coalition won 125 seats in the 243-member state Assembly, while the Opposition alliance, comprising of the Rashtriya Janata Dal, the Congress and Left parties, won 110 seats. The majority mark to form the government is 122 in the 243-seat Bihar Assembly.

In NDA, the BJP won 74 seats out of the 110 it contested. Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) which fought 115, won only 43. Other partners such as Vikassheel Insaan Party and Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) bagged four seats each. Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party, which pulled out of the NDA in October and contested 137 seats, managed to win just one.

The weak performance of JD(U) is being seen as the result of anti-incumbency and the decision of LJP to contest alone. According...

Read more


from ALL Jobs News
via Google Free Online work