7.40 am: Nitish Kumar, who battled the anti-incumbency mood, is now set to return as the chief minister of Bihar for a fourth term.

7.30 am: The ruling JDU-BJP combine touched the majority mark around 3 am in the closely-watched election.

7.20 am: The Opposition’s Grand Alliance or Mahagathbandhan put up a strong fight in the contest, but
fell short of the magic mark.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal bagged 75 seats and emerged as the single largest party in the Assembly despite the loss. The Congress managed to win only 19 of the 70 seats it contested.

However, the Left parties did remarkably well in the polls. The Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist) secured two seats each, while the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) won 12 seats of the 19 it contested.

The total number of seats won by all its five alliance partners stood at 110.

Also read: Left parties put up impressive show, leaders say could have won more seats

7.10 am: Defying most exit-poll predictions, the Bharatiya Janata Party won 74 seats...

Read more

from Scroll.in https://ift.tt/2IoC1e9

from ALL Jobs News https://ift.tt/2IlneR4
via Google Free Online work